Opinion

The pope and capitalismRestricted Content

December 7, 2013
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
American Catholics, including this convert, see much to admire in our new pope. But Catholic conservatives find it frustrating when church pronouncements on political and economic issues embrace leftist rhetoric and ignore reality.
More

Words can skew policyRestricted Content

December 7, 2013

When I wrote for IBJ last year, the word causing me the most difficulty was “progressives,” which I used in order to ask, “Where are all the progressives?” meaning persons willing to advocate street repair and other basic investments to improve our lives.

More

Rusthoven can’t pick his own factsRestricted Content

December 7, 2013
More

Hicks: Health reform among forces stifling economyRestricted Content

December 7, 2013
Mike Hicks
Over the next couple of weeks, I will be traveling to many of Indiana’s cities to explain my 2014 economic forecast. I will tell audiences that the national economy will perform poorly, and that we will not return to pre-recession employment numbers this year.
More

Kim: Investors must sidestep unnecessary fund taxesRestricted Content

December 7, 2013
Mickey Kim
Mutual funds must conform to U.S. tax law to maintain their status, making this a tricky time of year for fund investors holding their shares in taxable accounts (i.e., not in 401(k) or IRA accounts).
More

DINING: Getting sauced at Speedway's Barbecue and Bourbon

December 7, 2013
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of new-in-2013 restaurants that we hadn’t previously reviewed.
More

HETRICK: You can’t achieve velocity with one foot on the brake

December 7, 2013
Bruce Hetrick
People want not only to visit downtown, but also to live there. But if we are not regarded for livability, how can Indianapolis thrive?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Farce the herald angels sing

December 7, 2013
Lou Harry
Holiday spirit, solid acting, and a great Christmas song, populate this year's installment of "A Very Phoenix Xmas."
More

EDITORIAL: Solid reasons to give thanks

November 30, 2013
Those of us living in the Indianapolis area certainly have a lot to be thankful for, including these reasons:
More

KENNEDY: So many reasons to be thankful

November 30, 2013
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Thanksgiving is my family’s favorite holiday, not just because it is the one time of the year when all the far-flung relatives assemble, but also because it is an opportunity to consider how incredibly fortunate we are.
More

MCCORMICK: Indiana should refocus on Europe

November 30, 2013
John McCormick / Special to IBJ
Most Hoosiers probably didn’t know too much about the European Union until the crisis that broke in the euro zone in 2009. The worries sparked by that crisis were a double-edged sword: They made more of us aware of the EU, but the news we heard was mainly bad.
More

RACE: Region should plan for 500,000 new neighbors

November 30, 2013
Bruce Race / Special to IBJ
Expected population growth will work for us if we prepare and against us if we don't.
More

Hicks: Economic geography changed with labor

November 30, 2013
Mike Hicks
In 1940, vibrant cities had big factories, rail yards and lots of associated workers. In 2010, vibrant cities had lots of people in many occupations whose product is mostly consumed locally. This doesn’t mean there aren’t a few fantastic towns with factories, but it is the vibrant town that ultimately makes the difference.
More

Skarbeck: Stocks still the best bet among investor choices

November 30, 2013
Ken Skarbeck
Many observers are raising warning flags that stocks are overvalued, and some even say a market bubble is forming. A review of the evidence, in our opinion, doesn’t support their alarm.
More

ADRAGNA: Resurgent Pacers define fan phrase ‘built, not bought’

November 30, 2013
As Pacers followers know, this team, unlike Miami, was built from the ground up.
More

ALTOM: The data says: Driving deserves your full attention

November 30, 2013
Tim Altom
Even talking on the phone while behind the wheel is a potentially dangerous use of your time.
More

MORRIS: New hospital makes health top priority

November 30, 2013
Greg Morris
Eskenazi Hospital leaves no stone unturned in its quest for a healthy environment.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: No bones about it, State Museum mounts a mammoth show

November 30, 2013
Lou Harry
No bones about it, State Museum mounts a mammoth show. Thoughts on the exhibit that focuses on beasts that once roamed Indiana.
More

COTA: Credit-card-consolidating Coin seeks to change how you spend

November 30, 2013
Jim Cota
New device lets you store information from up to eight different cards. The simple idea packs a surprising amount of technology.
More

DINING: Shoefly lands on near North side

November 30, 2013
First in a month-long series of new-in-2013 restaurants that we somehow missed in previous months.
More

HARRIS: Allow the governor to lead completely on education

November 30, 2013
David Harris / Special to IBJ
For decades, the nation’s governors have been the driving force for changing—and improving—education policy.
More

Shale gas will support inexpensive electricity

November 30, 2013
As stated in the “Natural gas dilemma” article [Nov. 18], there is increased demand for natural gas in the electric energy market in Indiana and across the country. However, I take exception to the theme that this increased demand will drive volatility in the market and harm Hoosier electric and gas customers.
More

MEREDITH: Voters spoke clearly; now give democracy a chance

November 30, 2013
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
Despite being an underdog in her first run for public office, Glenda Ritz defeated incumbent Tony Bennett to become Indiana’s superintendent of public instruction in November.
More

FROEHLE: Ritz's, Pence's bickering hurts education

November 30, 2013
Kristin Froehle / Special to IBJ
emocratic Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz and Gov. Mike Pence are spending more time arguing than doing anything worthwhile for Indiana’s education system.
More

DANIELS: Fight over marriage amendment is foolish

November 30, 2013
Deborah Daniels
Indiana has a habit of being a bit behind the curve. In recent years, we have departed from that tradition, moving boldly in education reform, telecommunications reform and economic development. We have been named the fifth-best state to do business, third best in job attraction, and best in the country for international investment.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. If I were a developer I would be looking at the Fountain Square and Fletcher Place neighborhoods instead of Broad Ripple. I would avoid the dysfunctional BRVA with all of their headaches. It's like deciding between a Blackberry or an iPhone 5s smartphone. BR is greatly in need of updates. It has become stale and outdated. Whereas Fountain Square, Fletcher Place and Mass Ave have become the "new" Broad Ripples. Every time I see people on the strip in BR on the weekend I want to ask them, "How is it you are not familiar with Fountain Square or Mass Ave? You have choices and you choose BR?" Long vacant storefronts like the old Scholar's Inn Bake House and ZA, both on prominent corners, hurt the village's image. Many business on the strip could use updated facades. Cigarette butt covered sidewalks and graffiti covered walls don't help either. The whole strip just looks like it needs to be power washed. I know there is more to the BRV than the 700-1100 blocks of Broad Ripple Ave, but that is what people see when they think of BR. It will always be a nice place live, but is quickly becoming a not-so-nice place to visit.

  2. I sure hope so and would gladly join a law suit against them. They flat out rob people and their little punk scam artist telephone losers actually enjoy it. I would love to run into one of them some day!!

  3. Biggest scam ever!! Took 307 out of my bank ac count. Never received a single call! They prey on new small business and flat out rob them! Do not sign up with these thieves. I filed a complaint with the ftc. I suggest doing the same ic they robbed you too.

  4. Woohoo! We're #200!!! Absolutely disgusting. Bring on the congestion. Indianapolis NEEDS it.

  5. So Westfield invested about $30M in developing Grand Park and attendance to date is good enough that local hotel can't meet the demand. Carmel invested $180M in the Palladium - which generates zero hotel demand for its casino acts. Which Mayor made the better decision?

ADVERTISEMENT