Opinion

Skarbeck: There are no substitutes for buying assets cheaplyRestricted Content

December 14, 2013
Ken Skarbeck
The recent white paper issued by investment firm GMO’s James Montier ridicules some of the “innovations” that are popular in the investment field. His criticism addresses concepts like smart beta, risk parity, and real asset inflation hedges.
More

LOPRESTI: I’m Lucas Oil Stadium, and I’d like your support

December 14, 2013
A stadium makes its case as USA Today prepares to choose the nation's best.
More

MORRIS: Keep the pot boiling for neighbors in needRestricted Content

December 14, 2013
Greg Morris
Red kettles appear at holiday time, but Salvation Army makes a difference all year long.
More

ALTOM: Obamacare not only spectacular tech failure of 2013Restricted Content

December 14, 2013
Tim Altom
This year, as usual, there were plenty of memorable, human-inspired technology horrors.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Holiday Xtremes via ISO and NoExit

December 14, 2013
Lou Harry
Holiday offerings range from the pious to the perverse. A review, of sorts, of "Yuletide Celebration" with Sandi Patty and a twisted "Nutcracker"
More

DINING: One lunch in Bangkok (OK, two)

December 14, 2013
Lou Harry
Reviewing Bangkok Restaurant and Jazz Bar. Third in a month-long series of new-in-2013 restaurants that we hadn’t previously covered.
More

Local support made Eskenazi feat possibleRestricted Content

December 14, 2013
A little more than four years ago, our community came together like never before. Thanks to you, thanks to leaders from across our central Indiana, thanks to more than 400 Indiana companies and more than 10,000 workers, and thanks to Sidney and Lois Eskenazi and hundreds of generous donors, the new Sidney & Lois Hospital and Eskenazi Health is here for you.
More

Pundits watch Indiana for wrong reasonsRestricted Content

December 14, 2013
It wasn’t long ago that the national media watched closely as Gov. Mitch Daniels signed the nation’s most comprehensive education reform package into law.
More

Pence dismantling public educationRestricted Content

December 14, 2013
After the last election, nothing surprises me anymore when it comes to the state’s opinions on our state of education.
More

Next up: teen violenceRestricted Content

December 14, 2013
IBJ’s [Nov. 25] editorial endorsing the proposed panhandling ordinance was definitely on point.
More

Enough bashing of Coats, religionRestricted Content

December 14, 2013
The bashing of religion and the Republican Party’s continuing war on women is past being a weary read [Kennedy column, Nov. 18].
More

MAURER: Who’s reading this newspaper—and others?Restricted Content

December 7, 2013
Mickey Maurer
You can learn a lot about a person by finding out what newspapers they read.
More

SCHOETTLE: Watching Manning is painful whether he succeeds or failsRestricted Content

December 7, 2013
Anthony Schoettle
Win or lose, it's not easy to watch No. 18 play for the Broncos.
More

Velocity plan for downtown signals mind-set shiftRestricted Content

December 7, 2013
For too long, we’ve built our downtown primarily as a place to visit—whether for work, a convention or a sporting event—then leave.
More

The pope and capitalismRestricted Content

December 7, 2013
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
American Catholics, including this convert, see much to admire in our new pope. But Catholic conservatives find it frustrating when church pronouncements on political and economic issues embrace leftist rhetoric and ignore reality.
More

Words can skew policyRestricted Content

December 7, 2013

When I wrote for IBJ last year, the word causing me the most difficulty was “progressives,” which I used in order to ask, “Where are all the progressives?” meaning persons willing to advocate street repair and other basic investments to improve our lives.

More

Rusthoven can’t pick his own factsRestricted Content

December 7, 2013
More

Hicks: Health reform among forces stifling economyRestricted Content

December 7, 2013
Mike Hicks
Over the next couple of weeks, I will be traveling to many of Indiana’s cities to explain my 2014 economic forecast. I will tell audiences that the national economy will perform poorly, and that we will not return to pre-recession employment numbers this year.
More

Kim: Investors must sidestep unnecessary fund taxesRestricted Content

December 7, 2013
Mickey Kim
Mutual funds must conform to U.S. tax law to maintain their status, making this a tricky time of year for fund investors holding their shares in taxable accounts (i.e., not in 401(k) or IRA accounts).
More

DINING: Getting sauced at Speedway's Barbecue and Bourbon

December 7, 2013
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of new-in-2013 restaurants that we hadn’t previously reviewed.
More

HETRICK: You can’t achieve velocity with one foot on the brake

December 7, 2013
Bruce Hetrick
People want not only to visit downtown, but also to live there. But if we are not regarded for livability, how can Indianapolis thrive?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Farce the herald angels sing

December 7, 2013
Lou Harry
Holiday spirit, solid acting, and a great Christmas song, populate this year's installment of "A Very Phoenix Xmas."
More

EDITORIAL: Solid reasons to give thanks

November 30, 2013
Those of us living in the Indianapolis area certainly have a lot to be thankful for, including these reasons:
More

KENNEDY: So many reasons to be thankful

November 30, 2013
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Thanksgiving is my family’s favorite holiday, not just because it is the one time of the year when all the far-flung relatives assemble, but also because it is an opportunity to consider how incredibly fortunate we are.
More

MCCORMICK: Indiana should refocus on Europe

November 30, 2013
John McCormick / Special to IBJ
Most Hoosiers probably didn’t know too much about the European Union until the crisis that broke in the euro zone in 2009. The worries sparked by that crisis were a double-edged sword: They made more of us aware of the EU, but the news we heard was mainly bad.
More
Page  << 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. How can any company that has the cash and other assets be allowed to simply foreclose and not pay the debt? Simon, pay the debt and sell the property yourself. Don't just stiff the bank with the loan and require them to find a buyer.

  2. If you only knew....

  3. The proposal is structured in such a way that a private company (who has competitors in the marketplace) has struck a deal to get "financing" through utility ratepayers via IPL. Competitors to BlueIndy are at disadvantage now. The story isn't "how green can we be" but how creative "financing" through captive ratepayers benefits a company whose proposal should sink or float in the competitive marketplace without customer funding. If it was a great idea there would be financing available. IBJ needs to be doing a story on the utility ratemaking piece of this (which is pretty complicated) but instead it suggests that folks are whining about paying for being green.

  4. The facts contained in your post make your position so much more credible than those based on sheer emotion. Thanks for enlightening us.

  5. Please consider a couple of economic realities: First, retail is more consolidated now than it was when malls like this were built. There used to be many department stores. Now, in essence, there is one--Macy's. Right off, you've eliminated the need for multiple anchor stores in malls. And in-line retailers have consolidated or folded or have stopped building new stores because so much of their business is now online. The Limited, for example, Next, malls are closing all over the country, even some of the former gems are now derelict.Times change. And finally, as the income level of any particular area declines, so do the retail offerings. Sad, but true.

ADVERTISEMENT