State puts 4 teams in NCAA tourney

March 14, 2011

Four Indiana-based universities qualified for the 68-team NCAA men’s basketball tournament, the NCAA announced Sunday. Butler University (23-9) earned a No. 8 seed and will play Old Dominion in Washington, D.C., on Thursday. The other three Indiana schools will play Friday. Purdue University (25-7) earned a No. 3 seed and faces St. Peter’s in Chicago. The University of Notre Dame (26-6) was given a No. 2 seed and will play the University of Akron in Chicago. Indiana State University was seeded 14th and faces Syracuse University in Cleveland.