BSU’s Gora to be honored for tech innovation-WEB ONLY

  • Comments
  • Print

Ball State University President Jo Ann Gora has been chosen to receive TechPoint’s annual Trailblazer Award for “significant and lasting contributions to technology innovation in Indiana,” the statewide business-development group announced today.

Gora will be recognized at the group’s annual Mira Awards, which honor the state’s top-performing companies, schools and individuals in technology-related pursuits. The Mira Gala takes place May 16 at the Westin Hotel in downtown Indianapolis.

The awards are co-sponsored by the Indianapolis office of Springfield, Mo.-based accounting firm BKD LLP.

Under Gora, Ball State’s president since 2004, the Muncie university has been named the nation’s top wireless campus in surveys conducted by Intel Corp. and the Center for Digital Education.

“Dr. Gora is a pioneer who is putting Indiana on the map in the world of emerging media,” said Jim Jay, president and CEO of TechPoint.

Past Trailblazer Award honorees include tech entrepreneur Scott Webber, Indiana University President Michael McRobbie, First Internet Bank founder David Becker and former Purdue University President Martin Jische.

More information on the awards and the event can be found at

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.