Marion County board approves six more early-voting sites

July 25, 2018

The Marion County Election Board has approved six additional early-voting sites for this year's General Election.

The bipartisan board unanimously approved the six sites across Indiana's most populous county on Wednesday, two weeks after U.S. District Judge Sarah Evans Barker ruled the panel must approve at least five early voting sites.

Barker issued an injunction in April ending what critics including watchdog group Common Cause Indiana and the NAACP called an effort to suppress voting in the Democratic-leaning county that includes Indianapolis.

Since 2009, early voting in Marion County had been available only at the county clerk's office in downtown Indianapolis. The clerk's office will continue to offer early voting.

Here are the new sites:

— Washington Township Government Center, 5302 N. Keystone Avenue;

— Lawrence Education and Community Center, 6501 Sunnyside Road;

— Perry Township Government Center, 4925 Shelby St.;

— Franklin Township Annex Learning Center, 6019 S. Franklin Road;

— Eugene and Marilyn Glick Technology Center, 2620 N. Meridian St.;

— International Marketplace Coalition, 3685 Commercial Drive.

The new sites will operate from Friday, Oct. 26, through Sunday, Nov. 4, from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. on weekdays and 10 a.m.-5 p.m. on weekends.


Recent Articles by Associated Press

Comments powered by Disqus