Andretti Autosport inks multiyear extension with Honda

Indianapolis-based Andretti Autosport has signed a multiyear extension with Honda as its engine manufacturer.

Andretti Autosport CEO Michael Andretti said Thursday that the team has a great history of success with the Japanese automaker and he has no doubt that it "will continue to grow." Terms of the deal were not disclosed.

Andretti has captured three series championships with Honda—in 2004, 2005 and 2007—as well as Indianapolis 500 victories in 2005, 2007, 2014, 2016 and 2017. Since its inception in 2003, Andretti has captured 56 IndyCar Series victories, 47 under Honda power.

Overall, Honda has 225 IndyCar victories.

Ryan Hunter-Reay and third-generation racer Marco Andretti are already contracted through the next season with Andretti Autosport. The team says it will announce its remaining drivers in the coming weeks.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Editor's note: IBJ is now using a new comment system. Your Disqus account will no longer work on the IBJ site. Instead, you can leave a comment on stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Past comments are not currently showing up on stories, but they will be added in the coming weeks. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets in {{ count_down }} days.