UPDATE: Republicans dominate Indiana congressional races as expected

Republicans maintained their dominant hold on Indiana U.S. congressional seats Tuesday, winning seven of the nine races.

Susan Brooks, Trey Hollingsworth, Greg Pence, Jim Banks, Jim Baird, Jackie Walorski and Larry Bucshon were declared winners in their races Tuesday night.

Democrat Andre Carson was an exception in House District 7, winning as expected over Wayne Harmon. Also, Democrat Peter Visclosky was a victor.

1st District

Democrat Peter Visclosky dominated his race, as expected, over Republican Mark Leyva in the 1st District. Visclosky has represented the district since 1985.

2nd District

Rep. Jackie Walorski defeated Democrat Mel Hall to win re-election to a fourth term in northern Indiana's 2nd District.

Walorski had easily won her last two re-election campaigns, but political observers believed there was a chance Hall could pull off an upset in Tuesday's general election.

The Methodist minister-turned-health care company executive's campaign had emphasized his experience in business and on health care issues.

3rd District

Despite being out-fundraised during the past two quarters, Republican incumbent Jim Banks held onto his 3rd District congressional seat, defeating Democrat Courtney Tritch.

Banks, a veteran and former state senator from Columbia City, has held the seat since 2017. Tritch, a Fort Wayne native and business owner, has not held public office before.

The seat was expected to be safe for Republicans—Trump won the district, which includes the northeast side of the state, by 35 percentage points in 2016.

4th District

Republican state Rep. Jim Baird is headed to Congress after defeating Democrat Tobi Beck in Indiana’s 4th District.

Baird will replace Republican Todd Rokita, who chose to run for U.S. Senate this year rather than seek re-election. Rokita lost in the Republican primary.

Baird, a veteran and farmer, has been serving as a state representative since 2011. Beck, also a veteran, is an IT specialist.

The seat was expected to be safe for Republicans—Trump won the district, which includes parts of Boone and Hendricks counties, by 34 percentage points in 2016.

5th District

Susan Brooks cruised to victory in the 5th District, topping Dee Thornton. The district includes the northern fifth of Indianapolis and most of the northern suburbs. Brooks was first elected in 2012.

6th District

Greg Pence, an older brother of Vice President Mike Pence, has won an Indiana congressional race.

The 61-year-old owner of two antique malls had been expected to easily win election to the heavily Republican district seat. His famous sibling held the seat for 12 years before later serving as Indiana governor.

Eastern Indiana's 6th District seat was open because Republican Rep. Luke Messer ran in the GOP primary for the Senate.

Democrat Jeannine Lee Lake, who's the publisher of a bimonthly Muncie newspaper, had received an endorsement from comedian and Indiana native David Letterman in her longshot bid to claim the seat.

Greg Pence, who never has held office, once ran the now-bankrupt chain of Tobacco Road convenience stores.

7th District

Andre Carson will continue to represent the 7th District, which covers the lower four-fifths of Marion County. He claimed about 61 percent of the vote.

Carson won the primary in May with nearly 88 percent of the vote. He has been the representative from the 7th District since he won a special election in 2008 after the death of his grandmother, Rep. Julia Carson.

8th District

Republican Larry Bucshon had an insurmountable lead over William Tanoos with almost a quarter of the vote counted.

9th District

Rep. Trey Hollingsworth defeated Democrat Liz Watson to win re-election to a second term in southern Indiana's 9th District, which extends from the Ohio River to the south Indianapolis suburbs.

Political observers had considered the contest between Hollingsworth, a Republican, and Watson the closest of Indiana's House races heading into the general election.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets in {{ count_down }} days.