Indiana native Eskew named Lilly director

February 19, 2008
The board of directors of Eli Lilly and Co. has elected Michael L. Eskew, former chairman and chief executive officer of United Parcel Service Inc., as a new member. Eskew will stand for election by the shareholders at the 2008 annual meeting in April.

Eskew, who served as chairman and chief executive officer of UPS from January, 2002, until December, 2007, brings over 35 years of global corporate management experience to the Lilly board. Eskew, 58, began his UPS career in 1972 as an industrial engineering manager.

Eskew is a Vincennes native, and holds an engineering degree from Purdue University.

Lilly CEO Sidney Taurel said in a statement that Eskew brings experience that will help Lilly transform itself into a "truly patient-centered enterprise."

Lilly also announced that George M.C. Fisher, 67, will retire from the company's board on April 21. Fisher, the former chairman of the board and chief executive officer of both Motorola Inc. and Eastman Kodak Co., has served on the Lilly board since 2000.

Source: XMLFULL/XMLFull11439.xml

Recent Articles by J.K. Wall

Comments powered by Disqus