Two former IURC workers named to utility commission

Gov. Mike Pence named two new members Friday to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission.

Angela Weber of Franklin and Carol Stephan of Indianapolis will both begin serving on the commission in early March.

The IURC is a fact-finding body that hears cases brought by customers and utility companies. The organization exists to “ensure the utilities provide adequate and reliable service at reasonable prices.”

The openings generated heavy interest. Pence added a second round of interviews in order to hear from 21 candidates.

Weber currently works for Ice Miller and has previously worked for the Indiana Department of Education and the Marion County Prosecutor’s Office. Stephan has worked for the Indiana Department of Workforce Development, the state attorney general and as general counsel for the state Office of Utility Consumer Counsel.

Both have previously worked for the IURC.

“I extend my utmost appreciation to the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission nominating committee for their diligence, integrity and commitment to public transparency throughout this process,” Pence said.

Members of the nominating committee are Chair Gwen Horth, Eric Scroggins, John Blevins, Larry Buell, Win Moses, Michael Evans and Michael Mullett.?

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.