Allen County voters reject single-executive plan

Voters in northeastern Indiana's Allen County overwhelmingly rejected a proposal to replace their traditional three-member board of county commissioners with a single county executive.

Marion County is the only one among Indiana's 92 counties that doesn't have a three-member commissioners board.

About 70 percent of Allen County voters opposed the plan that would've created a new county government position roughly equivalent to a city's mayor. State legislators this year approved a bill allowing the consolidation in Indiana's third most-populous county that includes the city of Fort Wayne.

Allen County Farm Bureau President Roger Hadley helped lead the opposition, saying the proposal would have given one person too much power.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}