Indiana film critics select ‘Everything Everywhere’ as 2022’s best movie

Everything Everywhere
Michelle Yeoh portrays a woman fighting a multi-dimensional battle in “Everything Everywhere All at Once.” (Photo provided by A24)

The Indiana Film Journalists Association selected “Everything Everywhere All at Once” as 2022’s best film, one of four honors collected by the fantasy/comedy/drama in the group’s year-end poll.

The critics group assigned its original vision award to “Everything Everywhere All at Once,” the story of a woman fighting an existential battle in a multiverse context. The movie directed by Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert also was recognized in the categories of best supporting performance (Ke Huy Quan) and best editing (Paul Rogers).

Established in 2009, the Indiana Film Journalists Association is dedicated to promoting the art of film criticism in the Hoosier state and supporting Indiana’s film industry. It also presents annual awards for the year in film.

Winners in 17 categories were named for 2022, plus the Edward Johnson-Ott Hoosier Award that recognizes work by artists with roots in Indiana or a film that depicts Indiana locales and stories.

Joshua Hull won this year’s Edward Johnson-Ott Hoosier Award for co-writing the screenplay of “Glorious,” a horror film set in the men’s room of an interstate rest stop.

The critics group issued the following statement about the work of Hull, who grew up in Pendleton: “Joshua Hull is the rare Hoosier filmmaker who proved you don’t have to leave Indiana to make movies. He’s seen his career rise steadily as a writer, director and producer with local productions like ‘Chopping Block.’ With the release of ‘Glorious,’ Hull has broken out with mainstream success in a highly inventive film that blurs the line between horror, fantasy and character study. The IFJA looks forward eagerly to his next efforts.”

The complete list of 2022 honorees:

Best film
Winner: “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Runner-up: “RRR”

Other best film finalists (listed alphabetically)
“After Yang”
“The Banshees of Inisherin”
“Decision to Leave”
“Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”
“Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”
“Top Gun: Maverick”
“Women Talking”

Best animated film
Winner: “Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”
Runner-up: “Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio”

Best foreign language film
Winner: “RRR”
Runner-up: “Decision to Leave”

Best documentary film
Winner: “I Didn’t See You There”
Runner-up: “Bad Axe”

Best original screenplay
Winner: Todd Field, “Tár”
Runner-up: Martin McDonagh, “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Best adapted screenplay
Winner: Sarah Polley, “Women Talking”
Runner-up: Kogonada, “After Yang”

Best director
Winner: Todd Field, “Tár”
Runner-up: Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Best lead performance
Winner: Cate Blanchett, “Tár”
Runner-up: Michelle Yeoh, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”

Best supporting performance
Winner: Ke Huy Quan, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Runner-up: Brendan Gleeson, “The Banshees of Inisherin”

Best vocal/motion capture performance
Winner: Jenny Slate, “Marcel the Shell With Shoes On”
Runner-up: Isabella Rossellini, “Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”

Best ensemble acting
Winner: “Women Talking”
Runner-up: “Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery”

Best musical score
Winner: Michael Giacchino, “The Batman”
Runner-up: M.M. Keeravani, “RRR”

Breakout of the year
Winner: Charlotte Wells (writer-director, “Aftersun”)
Runner-up: Jane Schoenbrun (writer-director, “We’re All Going to the World’s Fair”)

Best cinematography
Winner: Hoyte Van Hoytema, “Nope”
Runner-up: Claudio Miranda, “Top Gun: Maverick”

Best editing
Winner: Paul Rogers, “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Runner-up: Kim Sang-bum, “Decision to Leave”

Best stunt/movement choreography
Winner: Vicky Arora (action design and weapons trainer/stunt coordinator), Raicho Vasilev (fight choreographer/stunt coordinator) and Prem Rakshith (dance choreographer), “RRR”
Runner-up: Daniel Hernandez (stunt coordinator/fight coordinator), Grant Powell (stunt coordinator) and Jénel Stevens (fight choreographer), “The Woman King”

Original vision award
Winner: “Everything Everywhere All at Once”
Runner-up: “Marcel the Shell With Shoes On”

Edward Johnson-Ott Hoosier Award
Winner: Joshua Hull, screenwriter for “Glorious”
(No runner-up is named in this category.)

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.

One thought on “Indiana film critics select ‘Everything Everywhere’ as 2022’s best movie

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}