IRL drivers race for bonus cash

  • Comments
  • Print

irlcashPatrick Stephan at TrackSide Online has compiled a list of Indy Racing League bonus winnings so far this season. This cash is the amount earned over and above the $1.24 million full-time teams get in the league’s revenue sharing plan.

More than $371,000 has been paid out in bonus purses for the first three races of the season. The Indianapolis 500 will offer the biggest bonus purse of all. Remember, full-time teams get $300,000 just for the month of May-win or lose.

So far, Dario Franchitti and Ryan Briscoe lead the way with $51,000 in bonus money earned. Franchitti earned $15,000 at St. Pete and $36,000 at Long Beach. Briscoe earned $36,000 at St. Pete and $15,000 at Kansas.

Tony Kanaan has earned $50,000 ($10,000 at St. Pete, $20,000 at Long Beach and $20,000 at Kansas. Scott Dixon is next with $37,000 (won at Kansas). Ryan Hunter-Reay and Will Power won $35,000 (at St. Pete) each. Danica Patrick also won $35,000 ($25,000 at Long Beach and $10,000 at Kansas).

The rest of the list is: Helio Castroneves won $25,000; Justin Wilson $20,000; Graham Rahal $20,000; Dan Wheldon $10,000; and Ed Carpenter $2,000.

Another interesting factoid from TSO which could be listed under the bone-headed move of the month: “Tomas Scheckter reportedly got confused during one of his first trips out on the track and turned down the MotoGP road course, instead of taking the warm-up lane. Going to guess that excursion didn’t do much for his tires …”

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Editor's note: IBJ is now using a new comment system. Your Disqus account will no longer work on the IBJ site. Instead, you can leave a comment on stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Past comments are not currently showing up on stories, but they will be added in the coming weeks. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.