North of 96th - Lindsey

Welcome to North of 96th, your source for business news from Carmel, Fishers, Noblesville, Westfield and Zionsville. Your host, Lindsey Erdody, can be reached at lerdody@ibj.com.

Boone County / Hamilton County / Regional News

Republicans sweep Hamilton County races

November 9, 2016

Despite an effort from Democrats to fill the ballot in local races this year, Republicans easily swept Hamilton County races Tuesday.

Steve Dillinger, the longtime District 2 Hamilton County commissioner, defeated Democratic opponent Marie DeMore with 67 percent of the votes.

In the District 3 commissioner race, Republican incumbent Mark Heirbrandt won against Democrat Debra Jarvis with nearly 67 percent.

Dillinger and Heirbrandt both received about 50,000 more votes than their opponents.

The Hamilton County Council also will remain an all-Republican body. Incumbents Brad Beaver and Rick McKinney received 23 percent and 21 percent of the votes, respectively.

Republican Jeff Hern, who recently was charged with criminal mischief for allegedly stealing McKinney’s campaign signs before the May primary election, also received nearly 21 percent of the votes.

Beaver, McKinney and Hern were running against Democrats Edward Chu, Rosemary Dunkle and Bob Williams and Libertarian Duane Brenton for the three at-large seats.

More than 41,800 straight Republican ballots were cast in Hamilton County. Turnout hit 68 percent with more than 158,000 registered voters casting ballots.

The school funding referendum for Westfield Washington Schools was approved with 81 percent of voter support. The 20-cent tax hike per $100 of assessed value will cost a property owner with a home valued at $250,000 about $260 annually.

Here’s a look at the Indiana House and Senate results for Hamilton County representatives:

-Republican incumbent Luke Kenley defeated Democrat Paula Gilliam in Senate District 20.

-Republican John Ruckelshaus defeated Pamela Hickman in Senate District 30.

-Republican incumbent Donna Schaibley defeated Libertarian Erol Cetinok in House District 24.

-Republican incumbent Tony Cook defeated Democrat Ryan Scott Davis in House District 32.

-Republican incumbent Todd Huston defeated Democrat Mike Boland in House District 37.

-Republican incumbent Jerry Torr defeated Democrat David Russ in House District 39.

Comments powered by Disqus