30 counties to be reimbursed for snow storm costs

September 18, 2014

More than a million dollars in federal grants will be awarded to 30 Indiana counties to help pay for damages, debris removal and other expenses caused by the Jan. 5-9 winter storm.

“Dollars are beginning to flow to replenish local and state government,” Gov. Mike Pence said Wednesday in a written statement.

“While it will take months for the federal accounting process to be complete and provide funds to the 30 counties that qualified for assistance, this year that started with a rough winter is looking a bit brighter today,” he said.

Currently, $1.13 million has been processed for reimbursement, and more money will be distributed as applications are processed by the Indiana Department of Homeland Security and the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Counties receiving money will be Allen, Blackford, Boone, Clay, Clinton, Fulton, Hamilton, Hendricks, Huntington, Jasper, Johnson, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, Marion, Madison, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Tipton, Vanderburgh, Vigo, Wabash, White and Whitley.

All counties – except Owen and Vanderburgh – will receive reimbursement for at least 48 hours of snow assistance. Noble and Whitley counties will receive 72 hours of snow assistance because they exceeded 150 percent of their record snowfalls.

The grants cover all eligible costs associated with snow removal for the 48-hour or 72-hour period with the highest costs.


Recent Articles by Paige Clark, The Statehouse File

Comments powered by Disqus