`

Holiday Wish List - 2014

December 6, 2014

The following is a list of Indianapolis-area not-for-profit organizations and the things each needs most. This is an opportunity for businesses and individuals to make tax-deductible gifts in the spirit of the season. Anyone who wishes to make a contribution should contact the organization directly.

This list is being published weekly through Dec. 22.

Requests should be limited to five items or services (not cash) and should include a contact name, telephone number and email address. Submit requests by email to bhoffman@ibj.com.
__________

AccessAbility Center for Independent Living, Amber O’Haver, 926-1660, ext. 247, aohaver@abilityindiana.org. Roof repair; parking lot resurfacing, marking and striping; plumber/electrician services; carpet cleaning; lawn care and maintenance.

Aftercare for Indiana through Mentoring, Richard Garschina, 874-8470, richard.garschina@aimmentoring.org. Board games and gently used books for all ages, stainless steel commercial upright refrigerator, eclectic artwork and decorations for café, adult volunteer mentors.

Back on My Feet Indianapolis, Chrissy Vasquez, (602) 369-6631, chrissy.vasquez@backonmyfeet.org. Marketing and design services, gift cards for Target and Walmart, gift certificates for pizza restaurants, men’s knit running gloves, unisex sports watches with push button timing option.

Best Buddies, Kristen Johnson, 436-8440, ext. 44, krjoh@bestbuddies.org. Gift cards for Walmart and Kroger, video camera, portable projector, office desk.

Brightwood Community Center, Izera McAfee-Day, 546-8200, brightwood.ed@gmail.com. Cargo van in good running condition; new laptop; Walmart, Target, Kroger and gas gift cards; four chairs for round 4’ conference table.

Camptown, Don Schafer, 471-8277, don.schafer@camptown.net. Motorola Talkabout MS350R 2-way radios (two-pack), 48” flat-screen TV, 16’ step ladder, Kodak Easy Share 14mp cameras with 4G SD card, 20V cordless drill.

Cancer Support Community Central Indiana. Brandi Truesdale, 257-1505, brandi@cancersupportindy.org. Rectangular banquet tables, gift cards for buying toys, 42” flat-screen TVs, paper products and plastic silverware, volunteers to help provide meals at monthly Supper Club.

Chosen Ministries, Maria Santiago, 280-7060, Maria@IamChosen.org. Desks, chairs and long classroom tables; business portfolios branded with our logo; video production services; laptop or desktop computers; IndyGo bus passes.

Coburn Place, Kathy Morris, 923-5750, Kathy@coburnplace.org. Sidewalk salt; batteries (all sizes); trash bags; gift cards for Dollar Tree, grocery stores and gas; IndyGo bus passes.

College Mentors for Kids, Laura Mishkin, 921-1798, lmishkin@collegementors.org. Laser color printer, 500 ink pens, ergonomic desk chairs, conference phone.

Dayspring Center, Michelle Jackson, 635-6780, ext. 235, michelle@dayspring.org. New bath towels, face towels and washcloths; new twin blankets and pillows; hygiene items; cleaning supplies; baby items including diapers.

Diamonds in the Rough, C.L. Day, 714-2141, cl53@icloud.com. Copy paper, Web designer to create website, gas cards, underwear for boys and girls in grades one through eight.

Eagle Creek Park Foundation, Sam Chambers, 327-7116, ecpf@comcast.net. Carpeting (about 1,200 square feet), archery equipment, heating pads for educational bird water bowls (no auto shut-off), fishing poles for Kids Fishing Derby, 3’x4’ bulletin board.

Eiteljorg Museum for American Indians and Western Art, Susie Maxwell, 275-1311, smaxwell@eiteljorg.com. Adult wheelchairs, Step ‘n Wash units to help children reach sinks when washing hands.

Exodus Refugee Immigration, Julie Garringer, 921-0836, jgarringer@exodusrefugee.org. Winter outer wear for adults and children; bus passes; gift cards to grocery stores, Target and Walmart; infant supplies.

FACE Low-Cost Spay/Neuter Clinic, Ellen Robinson, 638-3223, ellenr@facespayneuter.org. Surgical lights, anesthesia machines and other surgery equipment, ICU unit/oxygen chamber, video production services, work stations with upgraded technology, in-clinic music system with internal communication.

Gleaner’s Food Bank of Indiana, Derrik Hampton, 829-1778, dhampton@gleaners.org. Hygiene items, black permanent Sharpie markers, packing tape, stretch wrap, four-to-six-seat golf cart.

Happy Hollow Children’s Camp, Jennifer Dant, 638-3849, jdant@happyhollowcamp.net. File folders, arts and crafts supplies, 8.5”x11” copy paper, printing services, 10”x13” envelopes.

Hendricks Regional Health Foundation, Sue Bogan, 745-7376, sebogan@hendricks.org. Cases of bottled water, G-rated DVD movies, gas cards, printing services, video production services.

Heritage Place, Ruth Ann Hankins, 283-6662, heritageplaceindy@gmail.com. Copy paper in assorted colors, adhesive name badges, dry erase markers and cleaner, postage stamps, conference table (approx. 6’8”x3’6”).

Horizon House, Mary Stickelmaier, 396-6342, marys@horizonhouse.cc. Commercial grade HVAC units, new computers, handyman services, flash drives, conference call system with extension microphones.

Improving Kids’ Environment, Dolores Weis, 253-1312, dweis@ikecoalition.org. Marketing and branding consultation, including logo revision; design, graphics and printing for event display board; new Lenovo ThinkPads with software; Air fare & hotel for two to attend national conference in Orlando in April.

Indiana Blind Children’s Foundation, Theresa Brun, 554-2742, tbrun@isbvik12.org. Newer working laptop, black chalkboard paint and rollers, office supplies, printing services for business cards, two small seating benches.

Indiana Music Education Association, Lane Velayo, 780-4100, lane@imeamusic.org. Locksmith services, new 4.5’ four-drawer filing cabinet with lock, advertising/graphic design services, Web development services, wireless laser printers.

Institute for Affordable Transportation, Will Austin, 213-1088, will.austin@driveBUV.org. Roll-up exhibit displays (retractable banner devices), gas gift cards, “thank you” gifts for volunteers ($10 value), horizontal band saw, public relations services.

Irvington Community Schools, Jessica Journey, 357-3770, ext. 144, jjourney@ics-charter.org. Specific school supplies (please call for details), professional services from a journalist and/or photographer, loaded cargo van, John Deere ZTrak mower.

JCC, Martha Karatz, 251-9467, mkaratz@jccindy.org. New or used electric oven and mini-fridge, water exercise equipment, yoga and tumbling mats, four-drawer lateral file with lock.

Joy’s House, Julie Prather, 254-0828, julie@joyshouse.org. Bird feed, craft supplies, games and 100-piece puzzles, HP 901 ink cartridges (color & black), latex gloves (powder free).

Kingsway Community Care Center, John Mollaun, 272-0708, ext. 106, jpm@kingswaycarecenter.org. Laptop and desktop computers, printer/scanner/copier, upright vacuum cleaner, portable ultrasound system with convex and transvaginal probe.

Lutheran Child & Family Services, Crystal Wilmot, 359-5467, ext. 211, cwilmot@lutheranfamily.org. Grocery, restaurant and entertainment gift cards; socks and underwear (all sizes male and female); gloves and hats (all sizes male and female).

Morning Light Inc., Meredith Slavens, 218-7554, mslavens@morninglightinc.org. Paper products, AA batteries, storage containers, soap and/or body wash, dish cloths.

Noble, Rita Davis, 375-4256, r.davis@mynoblelife.org. Wheelchair scale, art canvas and painting supplies, builder for a wheelchair ramp, two sound bars for SmartBoards, floor buffer.

Oaks Academy, Linda Adams, 213-3708, ladams@theoaksacademy.org. Sidewalk salt, copy paper, task chairs, Elmo document projectors, microscope camera.

Partners in Housing, Jennifer Coffey 633-1861, ext. 113, jcoffey@partnersinhousingindy.org. New or gently used books, cleaning supplies and hygiene products, bike mechanic to help repair and maintain bikes, 6’ ladders, new desktop computers.

Peace Learning Center, Stacy Robinson, 327-7114, srobinson@peacelearningcenter.org. Handyman to clean gutters and install gutter covers, plumber to install a deep sink, new kitchen sink and faucet, new kitchen countertops, 6’x20’ indoor/outdoor mat.

Primary Colours, Jenny Skehan, 407-7464, J_Skehan@sbcglobal.net. Graphic design and Web communication services; food and beverages for gallery shows; signage for Installation Nation at the ArtsPark; office supplies including envelopes, paper and postage.

Project Home Indy, Lakshmi Hasanadka, 925-0980, info@projecthomeindy.org. Diapers (all sizes), wipes, paper towels, toilet paper, kitchen cleaning supplies.

Ronald McDonald House of Indiana Inc., Beth Johnson, 267-0605, ext. 202, bjohnson@rmh-indiana.org. Hotel-type luggage carts; Shark Rocket Model HV300 vacuum cleaners; white bath towels, hand towels and wash cloths; cleaning services for one-time project; hauling services for storage clean-up.

St. Mary’s Child Center, Shannon Marschak, 361-4882, smarschak@smccindy.org. Copy paper, Magna Tiles, United Art & Education gift cards, sweatpants size 4-8, underwear size 4-8.

Second Helpings, Betsy Whitmore, 632-2664, ext. 12, betsy@secondhelpings.org. Seven-day IndyGo bus passes, gas gift cards.

Teachers’ Treasures, Margaret Sheehan, 264-1758, margaret@teacherstreasures.org. Hand sanitizer, Kleenex, glue/glue sticks, copy paper, colored paper.

Westminster Neighborhood Services, Wade Coggeshall, 632-9785, wade.coggeshall@westmin.org. Mini bus, digital camera with video capability, paper shredders, 28-pound copy paper, gas cards.

Wheeler Mission, Steve Kerr, 635-3575, stevekerr@wmm.org. Bath towels and wash cloths, bed sheets (twin, twin XL, queen), pillows and pillow cases, blankets, undershirts and underwear (all types and sizes), pajamas (all sizes but primarily men’s large and extra large).
__________

WEEK TWO

Adult and Child Center, Dan Arens, 893-0336, DArens@AdultandChild.org. Help with volunteer program development, database design and space (occupancy) planning; employee teams to “adopt” our foster care program; lawn mowing and/or snow removal services.

Educate Beyond All Barriers Inc., Patti Marshall, 226-9675, info@educatebab.org. New computers with 17” flat-screen monitors; iPads; Toyota RAV 4 or similar vehicle; old or broken computers, laptops, tablets, printer cartridges, cell phones and small electronics; tools to repair computers.

Fairbanks, Stacy Traylor, 572-9384, straylor@fairbankscd.org. New men’s and women’s undergarments, lamps, light bulbs, twin bed linens, pillows.

GiGi’s Playhouse Indianapolis, Amanda Shoup, (260) 668-6510, indy@gigisplayhouse.org. Volunteers to lead educational programs; multi-function printer; iPad; office supplies; full-size, double-door stainless steel refrigerator.

Hamilton County Area Neighborhood Development, Tracy Heaton de Martinez, 674-8108, tracy@handincorporated.org. DLP projector, laptop, tablet computer, event planning services.

Hancock County Arts and Cultural Council, Jackie Osting, 477-7664, Jackie@hancockcountyarts.com. Entry rugs/mats, printer, 16 folding chairs, 8’ folding tables, 8’ ladder.

Hancock County Children’s Choir, Joanna Crump, 861-8401, info@hancockcountychildrenschoir.org. Portable choral riser sections, Finale computer program for typesetting music, high-quality portable keyboard, use of a retreat center for one night in August, use of a banquet facility.

Hope Academy, Stacy Traylor, 572-9384, straylor@fairbankscd.org. Scientific calculators, graphing calculators, flash drives, dry erase markers, staplers.

Indianapolis Opera, Carol Baker, 283-3531, info@indyopera.org. Commercial floor cleaning service, high-capacity storage shelves/bins, new or refurbished desktop computers, video storytelling services.

Intimate Opera of Indianapolis, Amy Hayes, 363-0420, amy@intimateopera.org. Roland BA-330 stereo portable PA system, Shure SM58 microphone two-pack with cables and stands, Kurzweil SPS4-8 88-key stage piano with speakers.

I.W.I.N. Foundation, Sue Wynne, 475-0565, suewynne@yahoo.com. Grocery store gift cards, gas cards, new or gently used desktop computers.

Social Health Association of Indiana, Tonja Eagan, 638-3628, teagan@socialhealth.org. New/gently used battery operated (or rechargeable) laptop speaker systems, new/gently used refrigerator with a freezer (10.3 cubic feet), laptop with Windows 8 and HDMI/USB ports, Office Depot or Staples gift cards.

Traders Point Christian Academy, Fred Means, 769-2450, ext. 238, fmeans@tpcs.org. Six-foot conference table with six chairs; six sections of pallet racking, preferably 10’ high by 8’ wide by 4’ deep; Motorola CP185 16-channel radios with UHF band.

The Villages, Kimberlee Cottingham, 775-6426, kcottingham@villages.org. Disposable diapers and wipes; teaching games and books for young children; board games for older children and youth; gift cards to Walmart, Kroger or Meijer; hats, gloves/mittens and scarves for all ages of children.•

ADVERTISEMENT

Recent Articles by IBJ Staff

Comments powered by Disqus