Pacers voice recognized in sportscasters Hall of Fame

  • Comments
  • Print

Mark Boyle, radio voice of the Indiana Pacers since 1988, has been named to the Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association’s Hall of Fame class of 2013.

“His calls of the Pacers’ deep playoff runs in the 1990s and 2000s are still some of the most-remembered moments in the team’s history,” said association spokesman Andrew Smith.

boyle-mark-mug Boyle

Boyle also has covered the National Hockey League’s Minnesota North Stars, Major League Baseball and Big Ten football and basketball.

Twice named Indiana’s Sportscaster of the Year by the National Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association, Boyle also has been recognized as the top talk show host in Indianapolis by Indianapolis Monthly magazine.

Also nominated to this year’s Hall of Fame class are: Mike Emrick, a Manchester College graduate who has worked stints for NBC, ESPN, CBS, TNT and Fox, primarily covering hockey; Andy Graham, a longtime sportswriter for the Blooominton Herald-Times; Bill Robertson, sportswriter for the Evansville Press from the 1930s through the 1970s; and longtime motorsports journalist and Fort Wayne Journal-Gazette columnist Ben Smith.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.