State energy trade association replaces longtime leader

The Indiana Energy Association has appointed former Northern Indiana Public Service Co. President Mark Maassel as president, succeeding longtime leader Ed Simcox, the organization announced Thursday.

Simcox has been the only president the group has ever known. He was named president of the Indiana Electric Association in 1986 and remained in that role when it merged with the Indiana Gas Association in 2004, forming the Indiana Energy Association.

Simcox, 69, a former Indiana secretary of state, will remain with the IEA as president emeritus.

“Ed has been a visionary leader of the IEA, someone on whom the entire board relied,” IEA Chairman Jim Stanley said in a written statement. “He is a thoughtful, knowledgeable leader whose contributions to Indiana have been a part of the success we enjoy. We are truly pleased that he will continue as a member of the IEA staff.”

Maassel, 59, has been vice president of the IEA for about a year. Prior to that, he was CEO of the NW Indiana Forum, a regional economic development organization, for almost four years.

He served as president of NIPSCO from 2004 to 2008 and was of counsel at Indianapolis law firm Krieg DeVault LLP from 2009 to 2010.

“Mark is ideally suited to help lead the public policy efforts of the IEA,” Stanley said. “Mark not only has executive experience with a large utility, but he also brings the perspective of a civil engineer and lawyer to the complex issues facing the energy industry.”

Indiana Manufacturers Association Vice President Tim Rushenberg will replace Maassel as IEA vice president. Rushenberg previously served as commissioner of the Department of Local Government Finance under Gov. Mitch Daniels.

The IEA is a trade association based in Indianapolis that represents 15 member utilities statewide.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Editor's note: IBJ is now using a new comment system. Your Disqus account will no longer work on the IBJ site. Instead, you can leave a comment on stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Past comments are not currently showing up on stories, but they will be added in the coming weeks. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.