Indiana low-powered moped law to take effect Jan. 1

A new state law requires owners of low-speed mopeds and scooters to register their vehicles with the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

Beginning Thursday, owners of mopeds or scooters with engines smaller than 50 cubic centimeters must have a registration, a license plate and an Indiana identification card, and they must pass a test identifying street signs.

The license plates will be colored differently than plates for higher-powered mopeds and will cost $26.35 a year. The ID card costs $11.50.

Indiana State Police will give owners of the vehicles a one-month grace period before they start issuing tickets for unregistered bikes. The BMV says local law enforcement agencies also may provide grace periods.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}