Mayoral primaries taking place in 115 Indiana cities

  • Comments
  • Print

Voters in 115 Indiana cities, including Indianapolis, head to the polls Tuesday to vote in mayoral primaries to decide which candidates move on to the November general election.

In Indianapolis, five Republicans and two Democrats are vying to replace Republican Mayor Greg Ballard, who decided against seeking a third term.

Chuck Brewer, Terry Michael, Darrell Morris, Lawrence Shouse and Jocelyn-Tandy Adande are seeking victory in the Republican primary. Brewer, a downtown restaurant owner and Iraq war veteran, was endorsed by the GOP and by Ballard.

Former U.S. Attorney and Secretary of State Joe Hogsett is running against community activist Larry Vaughn in the Democratic primary.

One of the more watched local races is in Carmel, where five-term Mayor Jim Brainard is being challenged in the Republican primary by City Council President Rick Sharp in a race where debt is a key issue.

In Noblesville, Mayor John Ditslear is seeking his fourth term against fellow Republican Mike Corbett, publisher of Hamilton County Business Magazine.

In Westfield, Mayor Andy Cook is seeking his third term. Cook, the only mayor the city has known, is running against fellow Republican Jeff Harpe, a Pike Township firefighter.  

Elsewhere in the state, Gary Mayor Karen Freeman-Wilson and South Bend Mayor Pete Buttigieg, both seeking second terms, face challengers in Democratic primaries.

Polls are open until 6 p.m.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.