Power Five conferences approve medical benefits extension

January 19, 2018

The five largest conferences in NCAA Division I have approved a measure requiring their schools to extend medical coverage for two years after athletes leave campus.

The new benefit, announced Friday at the annual NCAA Convention in Indianapolis, covers injuries that occurred during the athlete's college career and includes mental health coverage.

Each of the 65 schools in the Power Five conferences—the ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-12 and SEC—can apply their own policies regarding coverage. They also could expand coverage for longer durations as the Pac-12 and many of the so-called autonomous conference members already have.

The leagues also approved legislation requiring basketball teams to give players three consecutive days off during a holiday break with one exception every four years if a team plays in a qualifying tournament.


Recent Articles by Associated Press

Comments powered by Disqus