Indianapolis lands 2015 men's Final Four

November 19, 2008

Indianapolis will host the 2015 men's Final Four basketball tournament, the NCAA announced today.

A men's Final Four is considered a financial coup, bringing in $50 million for the host city, the NCAA estimates.

Other winners announced today are New Orleans, 2012; Atlanta, 2013; Dallas/Fort Worth, 2014; and Houston, 2016.

The sites were selected from 10 bids submitted in June by Atlanta; Detroit; Houston; Indianapolis; Minneapolis, Minn.; New Orleans; Dallas/Forth Worth; Phoenix; San Antonio and St. Louis.

The 2009 Final Four will be at Ford Field in Detroit, followed by Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis in 2010 and Reliant Stadium in Houston in 2011.

In 2004, Indianapolis signed a deal with the NCAA to be the permanent backup site for all Final Fours in case a disaster required a short-notice shift of the event. In exchange, the NCAA guaranteed to let Indianapolis host the men's and women's Final Four at least once every five years.

The deal guarantees Indianapolis a major NCAA event every year through 2040. The event will be a men's or women's Final Four, an earlier tournament round, or the association's annual January convention.

The NCAA last week awarded the 2016 Women's Final Four to Indianapolis. The 2012-15 women's event will be held in Denver; New Orleans; Nashville, Tenn.; and Tampa, Fla.

Source: XMLFULL/XMLFull24434.xml

Recent Articles by Anthony Schoettle

Comments powered by Disqus