Indianapolis library board approves Beech Grove merger

  • Comments
  • Print

The libraries in Beech Grove and Indianapolis will merge on June 1 under a plan approved unanimously by the boards of both systems.

The Indianapolis Public Library Board of Trustees gave the deal final approval on Monday night.

Beech Grover users will now have access to significantly more materials, including nearly 1.7 million books and other physical items, 200,000 eBooks and digital audiobooks and streaming movies and music.

The change will also provide the Beech Grove library with fiber-optic Internet connections that should greatly increase the bandwidth and speed of its public computers.

The Beech Grove library will become IndyPL’s 24th public location, although the full integration of the systems will take several months.

The trustees on Monday also approved four “naming” gifts totaling $250,000 at four branches:

— The Irvington Civic Plaza at the Irvington branch will be renamed Elmira Annis Irvington Civic Plaza after a $100,000 gift from the RB Annis Educational Foundation.

— A space at the Southport branch will be called Mary Frances Rubly and Jerry Hummer Community Room after a $100,000 gift from the Mary Frances Rubly.

— An elevator at the East Washington branch in Indianapolis was made possible by a $25,000 donation from the OrthoIndy Foundation, a fund of the Central Indiana Community Foundation.

— A still-undetermined area, such as a study room, at the Eagle branch in Indianapolis will be renamed for Barbara Frantz Storer after a $25,000 gift from DJ Angus/Scientech Educational Foundation Inc.

Funds raised from the naming donations will be used by the IndyPL Foundation to enhance capital projects and to help fulfill the system's long-term program funding needs.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.