Fifth Third Bancorp announces local executive promotions

Fifth Third Bancorp has promoted its Indianapolis regional president, Steve Alonso, to a position in which he will oversee all the bank’s operating regions.

Alonso’s new job title will be group regional president. He will continue to live in central Indiana and he will report to Chief Operating Officer Lars Anderson, Fifth Third announced Thursday.

“I am thrilled to take on this new role where I will continue to focus on doing what’s best for our customers,” Alonso said in a prepared statement. “I look forward to leading the regions within our 10-state footprint.”

Kevin Hipskind, who for the past 15 years has served as senior commercial banker at Fifth Third, will be promoted to the regional president job that Alonso is vacating. In this position, Hispkind will be responsible for Fifth Third’s operations in Indiana and St. Louis. He will continue to report to Alonso.

Both promotions take effect Jan. 1.

Hipskind currently serves as board chairman of the Eskenazi Health Foundation and on the executive board of the Japanese American Society of Indiana. He is also a member of the Indiana Community Business Credit Corp. board, the Mother Theodore Catholic Academies board and the Brebeuf Jesuit Board of Trustees.

Alonso is a member of the boards of directors and executive committees at the Indy Chamber and the Indianapolis Neighborhood Housing Partnership. He also serves on the boards of the Indianapolis Zoo and the 500 Festival Committee.

Based in Cincinnati, Ohio, Fifth Third operates in Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky, Michigan, Illinois, Florida, Tennessee, West Virginia, Georgia and North Carolina. As of Sept. 30, the company had $142 billion in assets and operated 1,155 banking centers and 2,465 automated teller machines.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.