GOP statewide officeholders all win re-election

November 6, 2018

Republicans will maintain control over Indiana’s statewide elected offices, as the GOP on Tuesday easily swept races for secretary of state, treasurer and auditor.

Secretary of State Republican incumbent Connie Lawson defeated Democrat Jim Harper and Libertarian Mark Rutherford.

Lawson has served as secretary of state since 2012 after being appointed by then-Gov. Mitch Daniels. The position is limited to two terms, but because Lawson was appointed to the position in 2012 instead of elected, she was eligible to run for re-election this year.

A Democrat hasn’t held the seat since now Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett, who served from 1989 to 1994.

For state auditor, Republican incumbent Tera Klutz defeated Democrat Joselyn Whitticker and Libertarian John Schick.

Klutz became auditor in 2017 after Republican Suzanne Crouch left the position to become lieutenant governor.

A Democrat hasn’t held the seat since 1986.

And for state treasurer, Republican incumbent Kelly Mitchell defeated Democrat John Aguilera.

Mitchell has been treasurer since 2014 after being appointed to the position by then-Gov. Mike Pence.

A Democrat hasn’t held the seat since 1979.



Recent Articles by Lindsey Erdody

Comments powered by Disqus