Four Indiana regions chosen as Stellar Communities finalists

April 18, 2019

Four Indiana regions have been chosen as finalists for state funding aimed at boosting community ties and economic development.

Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch announced the finalists for the 2019 Stellar Communities Designation Program on Thursday.

They include "Constellation of Starke," which consists of the communities of Hamlet, Knox, North Judson and Starke County, and "Jay! Region," which encompasses Dunkirk, Portland, Pennville, Redkey and Jay County.

The two other regional finalists are "Marshall County Crossroads," which comprises Argos, Bourbon, Bremen, Culver, Plymouth and Marshall County, and "Safe and Welcome," which encompasses Knightstown, New Castle and Henry County.

Finalist regions will receive a planning grant and will begin working with Ball State University’s Indiana Communities Institute to discuss project alignment and continued planning efforts. This year's 2019 Stellar Communities Program designations will be announced Dec. 5. Last year, two regions were selected to receive state grants of at least $6.5 million each.

The initiative is led by the Office of Community and Rural Affairs, which Crouch oversees.


Recent Articles by Associated Press

Comments powered by Disqus