Noblesville, Fishers politicos file for election on opening day

  • Comments
  • Print

Noblesville Mayor John Ditslear was among nearly two dozen Republican candidates who filed paperwork to run for office Wednesday—opening day of the 2015 political season.

As IBJ reported in this week’s paper, Republican Ditslear is seeking an historic fourth term. He doesn’t expect to run again, but admits he might have entered the last election thinking that would be his swan song.

Major party candidates have until Feb. 6 to declare their candidacy for the May primary, the most heated election in Hamilton County and other GOP hotbeds.

Six of the seven Noblesville Common Council incumbents also filed on the first day: Roy Johnson, Rick Taylor, Steve Wood, Greg O’Connor, Jeff Zeckel and Brian Ayer.

Newcomers Christopher Jensen, Megan Wiles, Dave Johnson and Ray Ade also are seeking seats on the council, which expands to nine members in 2016 with the city’s move to second-class status.

Down the road in Fishers, where the first nine City Council members were just elected in November, incumbents John Weingardt, David George, Pete Peterson, Selina Stoller, Eric Moeller and Todd Zimmerman already have filed for re-election.

Also entering the Fishers council race for the second time in as many years: former Greenfield Mayor Brad DeReamer, who moved to Fishers in 2012.

Other early filers include Carmel City Court Judge Brian Poindexter, who is seeking re-election, and three candidates for office in Cicero.

The primary is May 5.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Editor's note: IBJ is now using a new comment system. Your Disqus account will no longer work on the IBJ site. Instead, you can leave a comment on stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Past comments are not currently showing up on stories, but they will be added in the coming weeks. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.