WRTV scores big in broadcast awards

WRTV-TV Channel 6 has been named “outstanding news operation” by the Associated Press, the top honor among Indiana’s television broadcasters.

The ABC affiliate has been on a roll since new owner E.W. Scripps began making desperately needed investments in news and other operations. Scripps bought WRTV and eight other McGraw Hill stations in 2011. General Manager Larry Blackerby and News Director Terri Cope-Walton have added additional hours of news, particularly on weekends.

AP recognized WRTV’s Rafael Sanchez as best reporter and Chance Walser for best general news reporting.

The station also picked up the award as top weather team, citing meteorologists Kevin Gregory, Todd Klaassen, Ashley Brown and Kyle Mounce. WRTV’s photographers were recognized for best station photojournalism.

Indianapolis stations won a number of first place awards, including WISH-TV Channel 8 for best spot news for last year’s tornado coverage. WISH reporter Karen Hensel won best investigative report. WTHR-TV Channel 13 won in several categories, including best news series for work by reporter Sandra Chapman.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.