IndyCar to debut in Austin, return to Laguna Seca in 2019

September 4, 2018

IndyCar plans to make its debut at Circuit of the Americas in Texas and return to Laguna Seca, California, as part of its 2019 schedule.

The 17-race schedule released Tuesday drops Phoenix and Sonoma, California, from the calendar.

The Texas track in Austin replaces Phoenix in March as the second race on the schedule. The road course opened in 2011, hosts a Formula One race and, at 4.048 miles, becomes the second-longest circuit on IndyCar's schedule.

Laguna Seca hosted 22 open-wheel races until 2004. The road course near Monterey was last the site for an Indy car season finale in 1996. It replaces Sonoma as the IndyCar season finale next season.

Following is the complete schedule:

March 10 —  Streets of St. Petersburg, Florida

March 24 —  Circuit of the Americas, Austin, Texas

April 7 —  Barber Motorsports Park, Birmingham, Alabama

April 14 —  Streets of Long Beach, California

May 11 —  IndyCar Grand Prix, Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course

May 26 —  103rd Indianapolis 500, Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval

June 1 —  Streets of Detroit, Race 1, Detroit, Michigan

June 2 —  Streets of Detroit, Race 2, Detroit, Michigan

June 8 —  Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas

June 23 —  Road America, Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin

July 14 —  Streets of Toronto, Canada

July 20 —  Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa

July 28 —  Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, Lexington, Ohio

Aug. 18 —  Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pennsylvania

Aug. 24 —  Gateway Motorsports Park, Madison, Illinois

Sept. 1 —  Portland International Raceway, Portland, Oregon

Sept. 22 —  WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, Monterey, California



Recent Articles by Associated Press

Comments powered by Disqus