Mobi named Mira’s Tech Company of the Year

  • Comments
  • Print

Boone County-based Mobi Wireless Management took home the top honors at TechPoint's 18th annual Mira Awards ceremony Saturday night.

Mobi, whose software centralizes management of mobile devices, beat out four other companies to be named Tech Company of the Year, the category for firms generating $20 million or more in annual revenue. Judges noted that the 300-employee operation hired 115 people in 2016, added 34 customers and expanded internationally to 30 countries.

"In just seven years, MOBI has evolved from a fast-growing startup to the industry-leading provider of software and services for enterprises to control their entire device ecosystems," judges said in prepared remarks.

This year's Mira gala was held at the Westin hotel in downtown Indianapolis. TechPoint received award nominations for 90 companies, schools, organizations and individuals; more than 180 applied. Judges bestowed 15 awards and three honorable mentions.

The top individual award—Trailblazer in Technology—went to Angie Hicks, the co-founder and chief marketing officer of Angie's List. The judges said: "Angie Hicks’ personal story of taking a big risk and persevering is an inspiration to a generation of Hoosier entrepreneurs who are following in her footsteps and choosing to build their businesses in Indiana."

Here's the full list of winners (along with abbreviated judge commentary):


Rising Star Award: Lindsay Siovaila, Salesforce lead solutions developer.

The graphic designer who became a self-taught software developer founded the Indianapolis chapter of Girl Develop It, a not-for-profit that helps women interested in coding.

Tech Educator of the Year: Julie Alano, Hamilton Southeastern High School's Computer Science Department chair.

Alano helped pioneer the school's computer science offerings nearly two decades ago. Today, her influence extends from kindergarten through eighth grade and four levels of instruction at Hamilton Southeastern.

Investor of the Year: Jeff Barry, Plymouth Growth Partners partner.

Michigan-based Plymouth, a growth-stage venture capital firm, invested $10 million in Indiana companies in 2016.

Community Champion of the Year: Joshua Driver, Open for Service founder.

Open for Service—an inclusive network of businesses that would not turn someone away based on sexual orientation, gender, race, disability, or political/religious affiliation—is the brainchild of Driver. Open for Service now has resources and listings in all 50 states plus 20 countries.

TechPoint Foundation for Youth Bridge Builder Award: Mark Hill, former CEO of Baker Hill and founding board member of TechPoint Foundation for Youth.

Hill was instrumental 10 years ago in launching one of the foundation's largest initiatives, New Tech High @ Arsenal Tech.


Innovation of the Year: Arrhythmotech.

The neuECG platform by Arrhythmotech is capable of detecting fight-or-flight nerve activity non-invasively on the skin. Practical applications could be revolutionary for a variety of applicatoins, including detecting pain, epilepsy or atrial fibrillation.

Honorable Mention: The ROY G. BIV Math System by Team Storm

Best New Tech Product: DemandJump.

The artificial-intelligence-marketing company has been making a name for itself by helping clients increase revenue by triple-digit percentages. Last year it added to its success with its breakthrough "Advanced Search" offering, which prevents wasted spending in areas where up to 79 percent of the ads being served are missing their mark.

Tech Service of the Year: Fizziology.

Broad Ripple-based Fizziology is the leading social media research firm for the entertainment industry. The company is a trusted resource for most of the top film studios, as well as television networks, producers and Fortune 500 brands.

Honorable Mention: Viral Launch.

Honorable Mention: Fishers Police Department.


Corporate Innovator of the Year: ClusterTruck.

ClusterTruck has rebuilt the concept of food delivery from the ground up, delivering restaurant-quality (locally sourced) food faster than anyone else by using technology and data to streamline the process.

Company Culture of the Year: One Click.

Started by husband-and-wife duo of Randy and Agnie Stocklin, One Click set out to be the world’s most people-focused eyewear company. The company relies heavily on its unique culture to drive all aspects of the business. In 2016, One Click was named to Entrepreneur magazine's "Top Company Cultures" list and Inc. magazine's "Best Workplaces" list.

Start-up of the Year: ClusterTruck.

ClusterTruck posted higher 2016 revenue than the other nine startups in the category combined. It's embarked on a path to become a $100 million company with 50 locations in five years.

Scale-up Company of the Year ($100K-$5M): DoubleMap.

Transit software provider DoubleMap has built products that have attracted top corporate customers as well as universities, cities and airports. DoubleMap has reinvested profits back into the company and completed the acquisition of a direct competitor, all without a dollar of outside money.

Scale-up Company of the Year ($5M-$20M): ClearObject

The Fishers-based company is an internet-of-things innovator.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.