New Indiana dog-breeding rules take effect Jan. 1

Commercial dog breeders and brokers must register with the state under a new law that takes effect Jan. 1.

Under
the law passed by the Indiana General Assembly last April, commercial brokers must register with the State Board of Animal
Health if they sell at least 500 dogs or puppies per year.

Breeders must register if they have more than 20 unspayed
female dogs at least 12 months old.

The board says it will charge brokers a flat-rate annual fee of $1,000. Breeders
will pay based on the number of female dogs they have.

The law doesn’t affect animal shelters, rescue operations,
hobby breeders, and anyone who breeds at least 75 percent of their dogs for sporting, service or law-enforcement and military
purposes.

Please enable JavaScript to view this content.

Story Continues Below

Editor's note: You can comment on IBJ stories by signing in to your IBJ account. If you have not registered, please sign up for a free account now. Please note our updated comment policy that will govern how comments are moderated.

{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining
{{ articles_remaining }}
Free {{ article_text }} Remaining Article limit resets on
{{ count_down }}